THE SCHOOL BOARD OF BROWARD COUNTY, FLORIDA DIVERSITY COMMITTEE MEETING August 1, 2024 Minutes

Members Present

Members Absent

Antonio Burgess	Nicole Murad Scarcella	Ashley Eubanks	Lisa Yurkin
Corey Shearer	Rasheed Gray	Beau Simon	Rebecca Dahl
Faheema Abdool-Ghany Narnike Pierre-Grant	Ruben Nesbitt Teresa Williams	Harve Brosten	Victoria Bastidas

STUDENT SERVICES INITIATIVES DIVISION STAFF: Veda Hudge, Executive Director, Student Services Initiatives Division; Carlisa Russell, Instructional Facilitator, Marion M. Williams, Committee Liaison, Equity, Diversity & School Climate; Latricia Lauture, Office Manager, School Counseling.

DISTRICT STAFF: Joseph Beck, Director, Demographics; Donte F. Collins, Director, Letia Gale, Manager, Choice/Charter Management Support; Adrian Parker, Executive Director, Strategic Initiative Management.

GUESTS: Latrinsha Greaves; Nicole Morst

CALL TO ORDER

The regular monthly meeting of the School Board of Broward County, Florida Diversity Committee was held on Thursday, August 1, 2024, at 6:30 p.m. in the MGM Room at the Broward Education Communications Network Building. The meeting was called to order by Narnike Pierre-Grant at 6:53 p.m. A quorum was not present.

CHAIR'S REPORT

Ms. Pierre-Grant shared that changes to Policy 8010 and Policy 6400 were presented to the Board which she had concerns about. She also shared that she attended an Oversight Committee which included several district staff who gave an update about redefining.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

In Mrs. Washington's absence, Mrs. Hudge reported that the district has sent out important information and forms to parents and communities to prepare for the first day of school.

PRESENTATIONS

Joseph Beck reported on changes in Policy 8010. Discussion followed.

Donte Collins reported on changes in Policy 6400. Discussion followed.

QUORUM ESTABLISHED

A quorum having been established; the chair continued with the business requiring committee approval.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes of the regular meeting for June 6, 2024, were approved.

Nominating Committee

Corey Shearer, Faheema Abdool-Ghany, Nicole Murad Scarcella, Rebecca Dahl, and Teresa Williams were selected. Committee members who were interested in running for chair or vice-chair should email their intent to Latricia Lauture by August 13, 2024. A committee will be scheduled on August 21st.

Site Visitation Subcommittee

August 15th:

MOTION:

Motion made by Narnike Pierre-Grant and seconded by Rasheed Gray, "I Move: that Diversity Committee reserve the Right to maintain a rejection to all changes to Policy 8010/formally 5000 accept where new legislation is required if recommendations of this committee is not implemented."

The motion was adopted.

The meeting adjourned at 8:58 p.m.

The next Diversity Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, September 5, 2024, at 6:30 p.m.